How to Uninstall Dropbox from Mac: The Basics & the Nuances

It can be argued that safety is not a state but rather a process. When it comes to data safety, it is extremely easy to think of a dozen disaster scenarios from which one cannot recover. For this reason, it is essential to recognize that a data loss is not just another learning opportunity. There are times when the cost of data loss can be unacceptable to individuals and businesses alike. For example, who can consent to losing photos of their kids or some innocent family moments the intangible value of which cannot even be evaluated? Therefore, it is essential to ensure that sensitive information is stored offsite, thereby diminishing the risk of data loss as a result of physical storage media damage. In their choice of online storage solutions, many Mac owners opt for Dropbox.

Dropbox is one of the most popular cloud storage and file-syncing services on the market, which allows locking the most important and cherished files in an instantly accessible yet secure digital box. It’s not a bad idea to transfer essential data on a cloud where it will be surrounded by impenetrable firewalls. It is almost excessively obvious to merit mention that cloud solutions come in a wide variety of flavors. The one offered by Dropbox, while being extremely attractive, is far from ideal. Mac owners are better off using iCloud due to its tight integration with macOS-and iOS-based devices. Therefore, there’s no surprise that after testing Dropbox for some time, many members of the Apple crew switch to more attractive offerings. After the switch, it is necessary to remove Dropbox from a Mac. Find out how it can be properly done in this article.

How to Close Dropbox Account

The deletion of the Dropbox desktop app won’t remove a Dropbox account. If you want to delete the account, follow the instructions below:

  1. Sign in to the account;
  2. Click your user icon;
  3. Click Settings;
  4. Go the General tab and select the Delete Account

close dropbox account

Note that the deletion of files stored in the cloud will be initiated by the company in 30 days after you remove your account. The permanent deletion of data will occur within 60 days. It is also worth mentioning that any devices linked to the account will stop syncing. For this reason, it is necessary to switch to another cloud storage and file-syncing service prior to deleting the Dropbox account. As has been mentioned above, there is no shortage of similar services providers of which offer various prices, storage allotments, and upload limits to everyone willing to subscribe.

How to Remove Dropbox from Mac without Deleting Files

By simply uninstalling the Dropbox app from your Mac, you won’t delete files stored in the cloud. The file deletion only happens after you decide to disconnect Dropbox from Mac and remove your account. Therefore, there is no need to worry about data loss until you proceed with nuking the account. After you have subscribed to another cloud storage and syncing service and no longer need the Dropbox desktop app, you should remove it from the Mac. It must be done to a) prevent you from developing a hoarding disorder and b) to ensure that you have enough storage for more useful apps and files. After all, by keeping unused apps forever and ever and ever, a user turns their Mac into a junkyard. When Mac’s hard drive is strewn with useless files, it loses its oomph and becomes extremely slow. Therefore, it is always smart to delete apps when they are not needed. To uninstall the Dropbox app, do the following:

  1. Click the app icon in the menu bar;
  2. Go to Preferences by clicking the gear icon in the app;
  3. In the Account tab, select the Unlink this Dropbox;
  4. Click the app icon again;
  5. Click the gear icon in the app;
  6. Select the Quit Dropbox option;
  7. Launch the Finder and go to the Applications folder;
  8. Locate the app and drag it to the Trash.

If you’ve been unable to delete the Dropbox app by following the steps above, try quitting the processes associated with the app in the Activity Monitor. To this end:

  1. Launch the Activity Monitor from the Applications folder:
  2. Locate all processes that have Dropbox in their name:
  3. Use the X button to force quit the processes;
  4. Try deleting the app again.

force quit dropbox process

After this is done, Dropbox files will still be in the app’s folder. If you need to delete them as well, read the following subsection of the article.

How to Remove Dropbox Files from Mac

If you have synced the contents of the Dropbox folder with the help of another cloud solution, you might want to delete them. It can be done by simply dragging the folder to the Trash. All Dropbox files in the folder will be gone. Don’t forget to empty the Trash afterward.